The Indian cricket team has decided against traveling to Pakistan for the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 and will request the International Cricket Council to relocate its matches to Sri Lanka or Dubai, according to a source from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) who spoke to ANI.

The ICC Champions Trophy is scheduled to take place in Pakistan from February to March 2025. India has not participated in any cricket tournaments in Pakistan since the 2008 Asia Cup, primarily due to strained relations between the two countries. The last bilateral series between India and Pakistan was held in India from December 2012 to January 2013. Since then, their encounters have been limited to ICC tournaments and the Asia Cup.

The uncertainty surrounding India's participation in the upcoming event is linked to the ongoing tensions between the two nations. The Pakistan Cricket Board had suggested that India play all its matches in one city, with Lahore being the proposed venue. However, the BCCI is not keen on the idea of sending the team to Pakistan.

Commenting on India's involvement, the BCCI source told ANI: "India will not travel to Pakistan for the Champions Trophy 2025. We will ask the ICC to hold our matches in Dubai or Sri Lanka." BCCI vice-president Rajeev Shukla stated in May that the Indian team would only travel to Pakistan for the tournament if permitted by the central government. He emphasized that the BCCI follows the directives of the Government of India regarding team participation.

A similar scenario occurred during the previous year's Asia Cup, which was initially planned to be hosted in Pakistan. The PCB eventually adopted a hybrid model for the Asia Cup, with all India's matches, including those against Pakistan, being held in Sri Lanka. The final, which India won, was played in Colombo. Although Pakistan had considered a similar approach for the ODI World Cup in India the previous year, this idea was not pursued.

Pakistan is the current holder of the Champions Trophy, having won the last edition in 2017.