India triumphed over South Africa in a nail-biting finish to secure the 2024 T20 World Cup championship with a seven-run victory in the final on Saturday. Spearheaded by the exceptional Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya, the Indian bowlers successfully defended a total of 177 in Bridgetown, following Virat Kohli's valiant 76 off 59 deliveries.

South Africa, chasing 177, appeared to be in control at 151 for four in 16 overs, with Heinrich Klaasen (52 off 27 balls) and David Miller (21 off 17 balls) at the crease, needing only 26 runs from 24 balls. However, Pandya (3-0-20-3) swung the game back in India's favor by dismissing Klaasen on the first ball of the next over. Bumrah (4-0-18-2) then delivered an outstanding over, followed by a remarkable penultimate over from Arshdeep Singh (4-0-20-2).

With South Africa requiring 16 runs in the final over, Pandya took the ball and secured a crucial breakthrough by dismissing Miller on the first delivery, with Suryakumar Yadav executing a spectacular catch at long-on. Pandya maintained his composure in the tense final over, limiting South Africa to 169 for eight, thereby ending India's 11-year drought for an ICC trophy.

This marks India's second T20 World Cup victory, having previously won the inaugural tournament in 2007. Earlier, Kohli's gritty half-century (76 off 59 balls, 6 fours, 2 sixes) helped India recover from early setbacks to post a total of 176 for seven. After winning the toss and choosing to bat, India found themselves at 34 for three in the fifth over, with early dismissals of skipper Rohit Sharma (9), Rishabh Pant (0), and Suryakumar (3). However, Kohli and Axar Patel (47 off 31 balls) revived India's prospects with their crucial partnership, while Shivam Dube (27 off 16 balls) also contributed significantly.

For South Africa, Keshav Maharaj (3-0-23-2) and Anrich Nortje (4-0-26-2) each claimed two wickets.