Star India's versatile cricketer Ravindra Jadeja announced his retirement from T20 Internationals via his official social media accounts, following the victory in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 on Saturday. "With immense gratitude, I say goodbye to T20 internationals. I have always played with the dedication of a proud horse, giving my all for my country, and I will continue to do so in other formats. Winning the T20 World Cup was the realization of a dream, the peak of my T20 International career. Thank you for the memories, the cheers, and the steadfast support," Jadeja shared on Instagram. Jadeja's T20I journey began in February 2009 against Sri Lanka, where he played 74 matches, taking 54 wickets at an average of 29.85 and scoring 515 runs at a strike rate of 127.16. His standout bowling performance was against Scotland in the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup, where he took three wickets for just 15 runs in four overs at the Dubai International Stadium. His best batting effort came against England in 2022, scoring 46 runs off 29 balls, contributing to a 49-run victory for India.

India's triumph in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 was marked by exceptional bowling from Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, and Hardik Pandya, and powerful innings from Virat Kohli and Axar Patel, securing their second T20 World Cup title by defeating South Africa by seven runs in a nail-biting final in Barbados. South Africa, still without an ICC title, faced disappointment once again. India, on the other hand, ended an 11-year ICC trophy drought, their last victory being the Champions Trophy in 2013. India became the first team to win the title without a defeat.

The final match saw India winning the toss and choosing to bat first. Despite a shaky start at 34/3, partnerships between Virat (76) and Axar Patel (47 in 31 balls, including one four and four sixes) and later with Shivam Dube (27 in 16 balls, with three fours and a six) propelled India to 176/7 in 20 overs. Keshav Maharaj (2/23) and Anrich Nortje (2/26) were South Africa's best bowlers, with Marco Jansen and Aiden Markram each taking a wicket. In the chase of 177 runs, South Africa struggled early at 12/2, but a 58-run partnership between Quinton de Kock (39 in 31 balls, with four boundaries and a six) and Tristan Stubbs (31 in 21 balls, with three fours and a six) revived their hopes. Heinrich Klaasen's half-century (52 in 27 balls, with two fours and five sixes) posed a serious challenge, but Arshdeep Singh (2/18), Jasprit Bumrah (2/20), and Hardik Pandya (3/20) clinched the victory for India, restricting South Africa to 169/8 in their 20 overs. Virat Kohli was awarded 'Player of the Match' for his outstanding performance, marking the end of India's ICC trophy drought since the 2013 Champions Trophy.