The T20 World Cup 2024 (June 1-29) is scheduled to commence in the United States and West Indies on Saturday, with defending champions England aspiring to secure a historic third title. A total of 20 teams will compete for glory over the coming weeks.


The ninth edition of the 20-overs tournament will take place from June 1-29, starting with the host nation, the United States, facing off against Canada.


The tournament will include 20 teams, grouped into four categories:

Group A: India, Pakistan, Canada, Ireland, United States (hosts)

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies (hosts), Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea, Uganda

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

Teams within each group will compete in a round-robin format, with two points awarded for a win, and one point each for a tie or no result. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 8s. Subsequently, the top two teams from each Super 8s group will progress to the semifinals.


Matches will be held across nine stadiums - six in West Indies and three in the United States. The final will be hosted at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, which has a seating capacity of 28,000.